Slideshow: Winners of the International Portrait Photographer of the Year awards

Recently, winners and finalists were announced for the inaugural International Portrait Photographer of the Year (IPPOTY) competition. Brought to you by the same organizers that put on the International Landscape Photographer of the Year competition, IPPOTY received 948 submissions from portrait photographers around the world.

‘Who are the world’s leading contemporary portrait photographers? The aim of the International Portrait Photographer of the Year awards is to invite photographers from around the world to present their best work. In turn, we engage six acclaimed portrait photographers – this year David Burnett, Charmaine Heyer, Rocco Ancora, Martina Wärenfeldt, Sanjay Jogia and Sarah Ferrara – to assess and deliberate, curating a body of work that is not only representative of the portrait art in 2021, but is inspirational for us all,’ says Peter Eastway, Chairman of Judges.

Australian photographer Forough Yavari was the overall winner, placed first in Portrait Story and second in the Character Study category, respectively. She received a $3,000 prize while each category first place amounted to $1,000, while second place winners received $500 and third got $250 each – for a grand total of $10,000 in cash prizes awarded.

Winners and finalists, along with the top 101 photos selected by a panel of judges, will be featured in an Awards Book. Winners, finalists, and the top 101 photos can be viewed here.