Sony teases the Sony a7 IV, confirms October 21 announcement

Sony has announced the forthcoming premiere for a new Alpha camera set to debut in just three days, at 10am EDT / 15:00 BST / 22:00 SGT on October 21.

As tends to be the case with many of these YouTube premiere teasers, Sony doesn’t reveal any details about the camera in the video’s description or in the placeholder image. That is, aside from the confirmation it will be a Sony Alpha camera system and its announcement date.

However, if you look a little deeper and pull the metadata tags from the video, which YouTube uses for its integrated search engine, we get the following list:

‘ILCE-7M4 , A7M4 , Alpha 7 , Alpha7 , Sony A7 IV , Sony a7 IV , Sony α7 IV , Sony A7 iv , Sony a7 iv , Sony alpha , Sony α , mirrorless , Sony E-mount camera , full frame camera , 4K , Eye AF , Animal Eye AF , AF , Eye AF movies , field camera , pro camera , silent shutter , FTP , 4K60p , Eye AF birds , camera for movies , 10fps , 33MP , BIONZ XR , 10-bit 4:2:2 HLG , All-I XAVC S-I , S-Cinetone , S-log3 , S&Q dial , vari-angle , gimbal , 5GHz Wi-Fi , USB 10Gbps , live streaming , Creative Look , 15+ stops dynamic range’

If we base our expectations off only those tags, October 21 should prove to be an exciting day for Sony full-frame mirrorless camera fans.