Getty Images announces its 2013 editorial grants

This year, five photojournalists will be selected to receive grants of $10,000 for editorial photography. In previous years, Getty Images awarded between four and five grants of $20,000.

“For the past several years, Getty Images editorial grants were $20,000 each, however, judges and grant programme leaders observed that many grant projects proposed could be accomplished for smaller sums, and that adjusting the amount of funding would allow us to award more grants,” a spokeswoman tells BJP. “By changing the editorial grants to $10,000 each and by adding additional awards and grants in more sectors of the field, Getty Images’ grant programme will benefit more photographers than ever before.”

In addition to the five editorial grants, Getty Images will continue to support the Chris Hondros Fund with a $20,000 award that will be given to “encourage photojournalists who approach their profession with the passion, ethics and humanity that was evident in Chris’ photography.”

Getty also offers a creative grants programme that rewards four $10,000 grants for photographers and agencies that team up to create new conceptual imagery for use by non profit organisations.

Finally, Getty Images plans to introduce a new $10,000 prize in the field of portraiture in the coming week.

The Getty Images Grants for Editorial Photography were launched in 2004 and are designed to provide emerging and established professional photojournalists with the financial means and editorial guidance to realise personal projects of journalistic significance.

“Photojournalism is a powerful force for telling compelling social, political and cultural stories,” says Getty Images co-founder and CEO Jonathan Klein in a press statement. “The Grants for Editorial Photography programme is at the heart of Getty Images’ commitment to press freedom, excellence in photojournalism and our belief in the power of images to effect change.”

This year’s independent judging panel includes BJP‘s acting deputy editor Olivier Laurent; Jon Jones, director of photography at The Sunday Times Magazine; Jean-Francois Leroy, director of Visa Pour L’Image photojournalism festival; and Tiziana Faraoni, photo editor at Italian news magazine l’Espresso.

The deadline for entries is 01 May. Winners will be announced in a ceremony at this year’s Visa Pour l’Image in Perpignan, in September.

For more details and to enter, visit

Source Article from